Orienteering for 44 years. 

You are visitor number:counter

Saltbush Orienteers is based in the city of  Whyalla which is located on the eastern side of the Eyre Peninsula in South Australia. The club was first established in 1974. Most of the maps we use are in the nearby Middleback Ranges within 30-60 minutes driving time from the city. New to orienteering:  Click here for more information about orienteering.. 

Go to Events & Location to see 2018 Programme as well as combined Saltbush & Lincoln Orienteers Programme.

Please visit the Saltbush Orienteers Facebook Page 

Next event is a street event on Sunday 7th April 2019.  Courses for all levels of ability. See article below

Nicolson-Playford street event on Sunday 7th April 2019

* Participants can start between 10 am and 1 pm. Return to the orienteering van by 3 pm

* There will be courses to suit all skill and fitness levels.  There will be four courses in the surrounding streets ranging from about 2 km to 5 km.
* The start location is probably in the Bradford Street oval area but this is to be confirmed.
* Coaching and advice concerning map reading etc available. Ask at the orienteering van.   Contact Alan on 0403 010 569 for any queries
* Please have comfortable walking shoes, hat, water and sunscreen

* Casual fees - Individual $5.00 and Family/Group $10.00


 Awards presented for the season

2018 john darren jason cropped

 (l-r, John Paterson, Darren Bergmann and Jason Munday, absent - Tonia Munday)

The annual general meeting of Saltbush Orienteers was held on Friday 19th October and members were awarded for their efforts in the past season.   Jason Munday received the Male Golden Flash for being the fastest male runner (average run rate (bush) of 10:22 (min/sec per kilometre) and the Male Orienteer of the Year, Tonia Munday received the Female Gold Flash (average run rate 16:33) and Female Orienteer of the Year, Most Improved Orienteer was Darren Bergmann and Club Person was John Paterson.   Second placed in the Golden Flash awards were Darren Bergmann and Mel Bergmann.

The committee positions changed slightly and Greg Hancock was elected President, Darren Bergmann was elected Vice-President and the rest of the committee remained in place.

Principal Sponsor

SA Office for Recreation and Sport


Other Sponsors and Supporters

snap hilton asc osoa